UAAP fetes top athletes

  • Written by Theodore Jurado
  • Published in Volleyball
  • Read: 389

THE UAAP will fete its student-athletes who made big impact for Season 79 in today’s closing ceremonies at the Plaza Mayor inside the University of Santo Tomas campus.

The highlight of the festivities which will start with the streetdance competition at 4 p.m. is the much-awaited announcement of the league’s Athlete of the Year.

Last season, there were four winners, with Ateneo volleyball superstar Alyssa Valdez, La Salle table tennis ace Ian Lariba, Ateneo tanker Jessie Khing Lacuna and Adamson softball standout Queeny Sababo sharing the league’s highest individual award.

The UAAP will also honor the athlete-scholars who not only excelled in sports but also in academics, while citations will be handed out to the league’s athletes who competed in various international tournaments during  the 2016-17 season.

Outgoing Season 79 president Fr. Ermito de Sagun of University of Santo Tomas will turn over the UAAP flag to incoming Season 80 president Anton Montinola of Far Eastern University, who will also give the  acceptance speech.
In the streetdance competition, University of the Philippines seeks a fourth title in the league’s final event of the season.
University of the East’s Armada will perform first, followed by  Adamson’s CAST, UST Prime, UP Street, Company of Ateneo Dancers, FEU Dance Company and La Salle Dance Company street.
The season saw La Salle regaining the men’s basketball throne,  winning a back-to-back women’s volleyball throne and a perfect women’s football season, and Ateneo gaining redemption in men’s football and baseball aside from topping men’s volleyball for the third straight year via a 16-0 sweep.
Adamson also shone by winning its seventh consecutive softball crown, while UST swept  the women’s and men’s beach volleyball titles.