5,614 guests

Lumban, Cavinti score

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 296

PAETE,  Laguna -- Lumban clobbered  Mabitac, 79-60, and Cavinti  nipped Pangil, 75-71, to gain a share of  the early lead in  the first Cong. Benjie C. Agarao-4th District  Inter-Town  22 years old and under men’s basketball championship at the Agarao gym here last Jan. 7.

Angelo Liwanag  and Kent Jeremy De Leon combined for 37 points to power Lumban of coach Alfredo Mendoza to its second straight win in  this 10-team tournament  organized by 4th District of  Laguna  Board  Member  Benko  Agarao, Paete Mayor Mutok Bagabaldo, tournament director-coach Johny  Tam and commissioner Ding Andres  in honor of Cong. Agarao.  .

Liwanag finished with 24 points, while  De Leon added 13 for Lumban, which debuted with a 102-86 win over Kalayaaan during the opener last Jan. 3.
Christian M. Padilla (9), Mark Angelo C. Reyes (9) and Justine Eruel S. Barba (8) led Mabitac’s losing cause.
Cavinti  matched Lumban’s perfect start and beat Pangil  behind the efforts of  Steven  Castillo (28), Mark Glenn Delgado (10), Derick Atencio (9), Mike Delos Santos (7) and Ren Aljhon  Lubugin (7).
Cavinti, handled by coach  Joseph Baltazar, won its opening-day assignments against  Luisiana, 97-75.
Mark Kevin  Alvarez  topscored for Pangil with 20 markers. Mark Darrel  Galla added 18 and Christian Daves Alvarez  had 11.       
Equally impressive was Famy, which overwhelmed Kalayaan,  91-62, for a winning start.
The Eddie Mialdo-mentored Famy  drew double-digit scores from Dan Anthony Natividad (26), Matt Cedric Manuel (15) and Niel Brian Rey (15) to deal   Kalayaan its second setback.
Mark John Lucky Ablao  paced Kalayaan with 17 points,  followed by Ferdinand Dagsindal Jr.  with 13 and Leonardo  Famor, Kate Jastine Yapana  and King Rendel  Acueza  with seven apiece.
In other game,  Pagsanjan subdued Luisiana, 80-76, to even its record to 1-1.
John  Anthony  Amores fired 15 points, Howard Carey Ramos added 11, Rodney Roi Malto  contributed  nine, John Paul  Amores   had  eight and Jay Absena  had  seven to give Pagsanjan coach Jan Garcia  his first win.
Mergilla  and Domingo  led Luisiana with 17 and 16 points, respectively.    
The tournament is supported by  Gibi Shoes, PG Flex Linoleum, Maruyama Tarpaulin, Healthy Options, Metro Manila Tiong Lian Basketball Association, Firm Builders, Inc., UniLed, Bobot Sison and FESSAP president David Ong.