High hopes for St. Clare in PCCL

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 404

NATIONAL Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU) champion  St. Clare
College-Caloocan  hopes to continue its success  in  2018 when it  participates in  the National
Capital  Region  qualifying  phase of the Philippine Collegiate Champions League  (PCCL)   at the   
Jose Rizal Univeristy  gym along Shaw Blvd., Mandaluyong City starting Jan. 15.

Handled by NAASCU president Dr. Ernesto Jay Adalem and coach Jino Manansala, the  Caloocan
City-based   Saints  return to action armed  with  new-found confidence brought about  by their  
successful title campaign in the NAASCU.
“We’re confidenr about our chances in  the  PCCL.The  players are in high spirits since
winning back-to-back NAASCU titles last October,” said Adalem.
“The  PCCL is also a good opportunity for the players  to further hone  their skills under  
Coach  Manansala before they  take thei r acts to the PBA  D- League scheduled later this month,”
added Adalem, whi is widely credited for turning  St. Clare  into  one  of  the  leading collegiate
Manansala, for  his part, said  the coming PCCL  and  PBA D-League will  give  the St. Clare  
players the chance to prove that the  success in the NAASCU is no fluke as they  will be playing
against  NCAA and UAAP and UCBL teams  in the PCCL and  top commercial teams in the  PBA D-League.
“We’re ready to take the challenge. We like our chances,” said Manansala,who was also named
as “Best Coach “ of the  NAASCU after joining  CEU coach Egay Macaraya as  the  second  winningest
coach in league history   with three titles behind the five of UM coach Ato Tolentino.
Led  by  two-time  NAASCU   MVP winner Aris Dionisio,  Junjie Hallare,  Paeng Rebugio  and  
African  import Mohamed Pare,  St. Clare  completed a smashing  two-game  sweep of  De  Ocampo
Memorial College  (101-79 and   98-83)  to capture  their second straight  NAASCU crown  and third
since  founding the league in 2001.
In the PCCL, St. Clare is bracketed in Group A along with MBL champion  Colegio de  San
Lorenzo and   NCAA  heavyweight  Jose Rizal University.
In  Group B are Far  Eastern University, San  Sebastian College and PATTS.     
Based on tournament format, the  top team in  Group A and Group B will dispute the
championship in a one-game final  on Jan. 18.
St. Clare will  open its campaign against CdSL on  Jan. 16 and JRU on Jan. 17.
Both matches will be played at 3 p.m. at the JRU gym.
The complete schedule:
Jan . 15 at JRU gym --   1 p.m. San Sebastian vs. PATTS; and  3 p.m. -- JRU vs CdSL.
Jan. 16  at JRU gym --  1 p.m. PATTS vs. FEU; 3 p.m. CdSL vs. St. Clare.
Jan. 17 at JRU gym  -- 1 p.m. FEU vs. San Sebastian; 3 p.m. St. Clare vs. JRU.