FEU, EAC in MBL rematch

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 1015

DEFENDING champion  FEU-NRMF-Gerry’s Grill and Emilio Aguinaldo College clash in a rematch of last year’s title showdown  even as Philippine National Police and Philippine Christian University make   their much-awaited debuts in the 2017 MBL Open basketball tournament at the EAC Sports Center.

The Tamaraws and the Generals take  the floor at 6 p.m. today with the  memory of  their winner-take-all title  duel five  months ago still fresh on the their minds.

FEU-NRMF defeated EAC, 103-83, to capture its first MBL title last Dec. 6.

Handled  by coach Pido Jarencio and  manager Nino Reyes,  the Fairview-based Tamaraws swept their first two  assignments  against Victoria Sports-MLQU  (89-57) and Wang’s (80-67).

FEU will be backstopped by Fil-Canadian Clay Crellin, Fil-German Glenn Gravengard,  ex-PBA star Jerwin Gaco, veterans Erwin  Sta. Maria,  Edwin Asoro,  Dexter  Zamora and import  Moustapha Arafat.
EAC, which is being handled by coach Ariel Sison  and assistant coach Bong Melocoton, will be led by Sidney Onwubere,  Jethro Mendoza and Allan Martin.
PNP, which is still buoyed by winning its first UNTV Season 5 championship, and PCU,  which is girding for the next NAASCU season,  collide in the 7:30 p.m. main game. 
With PCRG  head  Gen. Gilberto Cruz,   Col. Jerome Balbontin  and coach  Eric  Samson at the  helm, the  Responders will open  fire  with a line-up that counts on  Ollan Omiping, Abul Khair Bayabao, Harold  Sta. Cruz,  Jayman Misola  and Anton Tolentino.
The Elvis Tolentino-mentored  Dolphins  will rely on former  MBL MVP Jon Von Tambeling, Mike Ayonayon, Yves Sazon, Fidel Castro. Brett Palatao  and Andro Catipay.