DoJ calls Duque to vaccine quiz

  • Written by Hector Lawas
  • Published in Top Stories
  • Read: 251

THE Department of Justice (DOJ) yesterday ordered Health Secretary Francisco Duque III, her predecessor Janette Garin and 38 others to attend the preliminary investigation on June 25 into the complaint filed by parents of school children who died after receiving Dengvaxia shots.

Assistant State Prosecutor Maria Emilia Victorio issued subpoenas to 38 respondents including Duque and Garin to personally appear on June 25, 2018 for the submission of their respective counter-affidavits. They were required to be present to reaffirm the sworn statements before the DOJ panel.

The panel is conducting the preliminary investigation into the criminal complaints filed separately by the families of the nine dead children, namely, Aejay Bautista, Anjielica Pestillos, Lenard Baldonado, Zandro Colite, Abbie Hedia, Jansyn Art Bataa, Mark Axel Ebonia, Reijazztine Justin Alimagno, and Alexander Jaime.

The Public Attorneys Office has been conducting autopsies of individuals whose deaths are allegedly linked to the effects of the vaccine. 

Duque, together with Dr. Maria Lourdes Santiago and Melody Zamudio as respondents, is facing two criminal complaints. The health chief was also charged with obstruction of justice in a previous complaint.

Aside from Duque and Garin also named as respondents were DOH officials Vicente Belizario Jr., Kenneth Hartigan-Go, Gerardo Bayugo, Lyndon Lee Suy, Irma Asuncion, Julius Lecciones, Joyce Ducusin, and Rosalind Vianzon; Maria Lourdes Santiago and Melody Zamudio of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA); and Socorro Lupisan and Maria Rosario Capending of the Research Institute for Tropical Medicine (RITM).

Executives of Sanofi Pasteur Inc. and distributor Zuellig Pharma Corp. were included as respondents.

The corporate directors and officers of Sanofi named in the complaint are Carlito Realuyo, Sanislas Camart, Jean Louis Grunwald, Jean-Francois Vacherand, Conchita Santos, Jazel Anne Calvo, Pearl Grace Cabali, and Marie Esther De Antoni.

Meanwhile, those from Zuellig are Kasigod Jamias, Michael Becker, Ricardo Romulo, Imran Babar Chugtai, Raymund Azurin, Nilo Badiola, John Stokes Davison, Marc Franck, Ashley Gerard Antonio, Ana Liza Peralta, Rosa Maria Chua, Danilo Cahoy, Manuel Concio III, Roland Goco, and Ma. Visitacion Barreiro.