24 Mimaropa top cops relieved over dismal anti-drug performance

  • Written by Alfred Dalizon with Zaida delos Reyes-Palanca & Celso C. Lidot
  • Published in Provincial
  • Read: 189

POLICE Regional Office 4-B director Chief Supt. Emmanuel Luis D. Licup yesterday announced the relief of 24 chiefs of police in different municipalities in Mimaropa region for their dismal performance in the campaign against illegal drug trafficking and abuse.

“The 24 officers-in-charge/chiefs of police in the region were relieved from their respective posts effective last Monday due to either non-performance or low performance in the anti-drugs campaign,” the official said in compliance to Philippine National Police chief Director General Oscar D. Albayalde’s order to replace non-performers in the PNP’s anti-drug crackdown.

Licup also warned the remaining 53 of the 77 OICs/COPs in the region to triple their efforts on their anti-criminality operations especially on illegal drugs. “If they fail to appropriately do their tasks, they will also be facing the fate of the 24 as we are putting the right men on the right job,” he said.

OICs have been named to replace the 24 as of yesterday.

The official said the relief of the 24 officials was recommended by the PRO4-B Oversight Committee on Illegal Drugs chaired by PRO4-B Deputy Regional Director for Operations Senior Supt. Ferdinand M. Garay.

The oversight committee reviewed the performance of all PRO4-B chiefs of police from Dec. 5, 2017 to last May 31 and submitted their recommendation to Licup.

The official said that based on the recommendation of the oversight committee, he ordered the relief of the chiefs of police who failed to meet the requirements set forth by the PNP leadership on the number of accomplishment in their anti-illegal drugs operation.

Licup said the 24 relieved officers were broken down into the following: the chiefs of police in Bonga-bong, Bulalacao, San Teodoro and Mansalay Municipal Police Stations in Oriental Mindoro; the chiefs of police of Looc, Lubang, Calintaan, Paluan, and Abra de Ilog Municipal Police Stations in Sta. Cruz, Occidental Mindoro; Sta. Cruz Municipal Police Station in Marinduque; Alcantara, Calatrava, San Agustin, Sta. Fe, and Ferrol Municipal Police Stations in Romblon; Aborlan, Agutaya, Balabac, Bataraza, Brooke’s Point, Culion, Linapacan, and Quezon Municipal Police Stations in Palawan; and Irawan Police Station in Puerto Princesa City.