DepEd prepares for June 4 class opening

  • Written by Arlene Rivera
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 426

THE Department of Education (DepEd) is preparing for the opening of classes in all public schools nationwide on June 4 as they reactivated the Oplan Balik Eskwela (OBE).

Education Secretary Leonor Briones said, the conduct of the OBE will ensure that all learners are properly enrolled and able to attend school on the first day of classes by addressing problems, queries, and other concerns commonly encountered by our stakeholders at the start of the school year.

The OBE for School Year 2018-2019 will be set up from May 21 to June 8 at the Bulwagan ng Karunungan, DepEd-Central Office in Pasig City.

Under the OBE, the DepEd-Central Office (CO) shall set up the OBE Information and Action Center (IAC) which shall serve as the information and complaints processing and routing zone for the duration of the project.

Likewise, regional and division offices are encouraged to set up a command center to receive and respond to concerns directly from the ground.

Regional information officers and other OBE personnel attended the 2018 OBE National Orientation last May 10 to 11 at the DepEd-CO to capacitate them on how to properly handle and answer questions from the public.

Some of the topics discussed at the orientation include Learner Reference Number (LRN) and Learner Information System (LIS); Government Assistance to Students and Teachers in Private Education (GASTPE); Philippine Educational Placement Test (PEPT); K to 12 Program; enrollment policies; Kindergarten; Alternative Learning System (ALS); Madrasah Education Program; Special Education (SpEd) Program; disaster-preparedness; Child Protection Policy; and teacher hiring, among others.

The OBE-IATF is composed of the Department of Energy (DoE); Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG); Department of Health (DoH); Department of National Defense (DND), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH); Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD); Department of Trade and Industry (DTI); Manila Electric Company (Meralco); Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS); Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA); Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa); and Philippine National Police (PNP).