4 DoJ officials quit, replaced by Duterte

  • Written by Hector Lawas
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 169

President Duterte yesterday accepted the courtesy resignations of three Justice undersecretaries and an assistant secretary, and immediately announced their replacements.

Those who resigned were Justice Undersecretaries Raymund Mecate, Erickson Balmes, Reynante Orceo, and Assistant Secretary Juvy Manwong.

Incidentally, Mecate, Balmes, and Orceo were the fraternity brothers of the President at the San Beda-based Lex Talionis fraternity.

They were brought in by former Justice Secretary Vitaliano Aguirre II to the DoJ.

Upon the recommendation of Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra, the Chief Executive appointed lawyers Emmeline Aglipay-Villar, Adrian Sugay, Mark Perete, and Neal Vincent Bainto as their replacements.

Villar, wife of Public Works Secretary Mark Villar, finished her law degree from the University of the Philippines in 2006 (Order of the Purple Feather Honors Society). She was a former member of the House of Representatives as party-list lawmaker representing the labor sector.

Sugay took up law at the Ateneo de Manila University. Prior to his appointment, he was an active litigation lawyer, and was once a partner at the De Borja Medialdea Bello Guevarra and Serapio Law Offices.

Furthermore, Perete worked as legal counsel in multi-national companies and taught law in various schools. At one time, he was a technical assistant with the rank of assistant secretary of legal affairs at the Office of the President.