7,570 guests

Macway, EAC in vital tiff

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 294

THE wild, wild race for the two outright semis berths continue today  with  four of five teams still in contention  slugging it out in the 2016 MBL  Open basketball  tournament at  the EAC  Sports Center in Ermita, Manila.

Defending champion  Macway Travel  Club battles Emilio Aguinaldo College  and  Philippine Air Force meets  Jamfy-Secret Spices in  a  pair  of  crucial  matches that could  decide their  fate  in this  seven-team   tournament  sponsored  by Smart Sports, Ironcon  Builders,  Star Bread, Dickies Underwear and Gerry’s Grill.

With only  two playing  days left in  the elimination  round, all four   teams and  early  favorite   FEU-Nicanor  Reyes  Medical  Foundation  are  still in  the  thick of  the  fight for the  two outright semis berths  with  twice-to-beat advantages.

Handled  by coach  Daniel Martinez, consultant Braulio Lim and manager Erick Kirong,  Macway  snapped  a  two-game losing skid and bounced  back  into contention  following  a  hard-earned 100-94 win over Philippine Air Force last Nov. 12.

Macway will lean anew on former PBA mainstays Bonbon  Custodio, Jeff  Sanders, Larry Rodriguez   and   Nino  Marquez, and  Mark  Fampulme,  Floyd  Dedicatoria,  Pol  Santiago,  Harold  Sta Cruz,  Jiggy Laude, Totot   Mangaran  and  Teng  Reyes  and American Mike Harry and Jimmy Brown.
EAC, which is being handled by coach Ariel Sison and assistant coach  Bong  Melocoton, will rely on Jerome Garcia, Juju   Bautista, Jethro Mendoza,  Jeric  Diego,  Rustan  Bugarin,  Jeanu  Carlo Gano,  Nelson  Mendoza,  Haspee Altiche,  Edric Estacio,  Renz  Gonzales  and Argel Natividad.
Air Force, which is being handled by coaches Alvin Zuniga and Jimmy Andaya and supported by  PAF CG Lt. Gen. Edgar Fallorina, Col. Elpidio Talja and LTC Nestor Etis,  split its four matches so far.
The  Jet Force  lost  its opening match  against EAC before winning over FEU-NRMF and Wang’s Ballclub.They lost to Macway last week.
The Jet Force  will be bannered anew by  Rama Krishna Morales, Paulino Rebollos, Darwin Cordero, Jerry  Lumongsod, Roger Malig-on, Ranimark Tano, Raniel Jake Diwa, Francis Regalado, Romeo Almerol and Reymark Pinto.