6,373 guests

Holdover urged as House set to defer SK, bgy polls

  • Written by Ryan Ponce Pacpaco
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 528

INCUMBENT village chairmen and councilors will serve in a holdover capacity under a proposed law resetting the Sangguniang Kabataan and barangay elections from October 31, 2016 to October 23, 2017.

The  House Committee on Suffrage and Electoral Reforms is set to approve the measure this afternoon, a House leader said yesterday.
Citizens Battle Against Corruption Rep. Sherwin Tugna, who chairs the panel, said lawmakers will approve House Bill 3384 principally filed by Speaker Pantaleon “Bebot” Alvarez, where the holdover provision under Republic Act 9164 as amended by Republic Act 9340 shall remain applicable and in full force and effect under the Act.
“I do not want to preempt the vote and decision of the members of the House Committee on Suffrage and Electoral Reforms. But I believe that the members of the majority in the Lower House find the basis for postponement meritorious,” Tugna said in an interview.
Aside from Alvarez, other authors of the resolution include Tugna, Deputy Speakers Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (Pampanga), Raneo Abu (Batangas), Miro Quimbo (Marikina City), Mylene Garcia Albano (Davao City), Mercedes Alvarez (Negros Occidental), Bai Sandra Sema (Maguindanao), Gwendolyn Garcia (Cebu), Eric Singson (Ilocos Sur), Fred Castro (Capiz), Sharon Garin (AAMBIS-OWA), Ferdinand Hernandez (South Cotabato), and Pia Cayetano (Taguig); House Majority Floor Leader and Ilocos Norte Rep. Rodolfo “Rudy” Fariñas, House Minority Leader and Quezon Rep. Danilo Suarez and South Cotabato Rep. Pedro Acharon.
Arroyo supported the postponement of the barangay and SK polls to allow Congress to introduce reforms in the system, including the proposal of Alvarez to abolish SK and barangay councilors.