6,310 guests

PBA legends banner FCVBA

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 1528

READY and confident.

That’s how officials of the four teams of the Filipino-Chinese Veterans  Basketball Association (FCVBA)  describe their preparations  for the coming 25th  ASEAN Veterans Basketball  Conference  scheduled  Aug. 21-27 at the  Chiang Kai Shek College gym and the  Manila  Downtown YMCA gym in Binondo.
Opening  ceremony  is set  on Aug. 22 at the Chiang Kai  Shek gym.
Led  by PBA  legends, FCVBA is defending  the  titles in three of four  age divisions  -- 40  years old and above 50 years old and above and 60  years old and above  -- and seeking  the crown in the  65 years old and above category, which is being introduced  this year.
Former PBA MVPs Alvin Patrimonio and  Allan Caidic and Jerry Codiñera and Gerald Esplana  will banner the  FCVBA 50-above team, while  1998 MVP Kenneth  Duremdes, Braulio Lim, Ernesto Ballesteros and Benny Cheng will lead  the  FCVBA 40-above  team.
“We are leaving no stone  unturned to ensure the  success of the tournament, which we are again  hosting,” said FCVBA chairman  Jaime   “Jimi” Lim of Ironcon Builders.
The FCVBA line-ups:
40 years old and  above -- Kenneth Duremdez,  Braulio Lim,  Ernesto Ballesteros, Benito Cheng, Louie Kaw, Royd Tan, Joseph Realista, Dexter Quan,  Francis Sy,  Arnel Syyap,  Lorencio Lim and Gerardo Santiago.
50 years old and above -- Alvin Patrimonio, Allan Caidic, Jerry Codinera, Gerald  Esplana, Gerry Gonzales, Silverio Palad, Oscar  Go, Ng Yuk Chi, Daniel Pascual, Gerardo Tee Lawrence Chongson,  and Lucio Tan Jr.
60  years old and  above -- Eduard Tio, Jose  Lao, Kenneth Yap, Andrew Ongtengco,  Conrad Siy,  Renato So, James Chua, Johnny Chua, Danny Co, Julio Cruz, Morris  Lee, Joseph Whang and Noli Banate.
65  years old and  above -- Virgilio de la Cruz, Antonio Go, Zotico Tan, Lee Ching Ka, Que Chin Po, William Lao, William Lee,  Peter Ley, Francisco Tan, Johnson Lao, AlbertoTo and Jaime Lim.
The week-long competition sponsored by  Ironcon Builders, Rain or Shine,  Freego Jeans and  Philippine  Airlines  are Malaysia,  Indonesia, Thailand, Brunei and host Philippines.
With  Lim  in  the FCVBA are Terry Que, vice-chairman;  Lucio “Bong” Tan, Jr., president; and Edward Tio,  vice-president.
Edster Sy of  Headstart Sports Academy said  the  participating teams are Hatyai  (Thailand), Hornbill Sarawak (Malaysia),   Miri Kinsar  (Malaysia), Brunei Basketball Association,  KLVBC (Malaysia), ZAAP Bangkok  (Thailand),  Meteor  Pontianak  (Indonesia),  ASABA (Indonesia) and FCVBA (Philippines).
Assisting SY  are  Sunny Co, commissioner and Willy Chan, deputy  commissioner.