4,811 guests

PL elects new set of officers

  • Written by Ryan Ponce Pacpaco
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 293

THE Party-List Coalition (PLC) of the House of Representatives has elected its new set of officers for the 17th Congress.

AKO Bicol party-list Rep. Rodel M. Batocabe will assume the presidency this term while Rep. Arnel Ty of LPGMA, Rep. Victoria Noel of An Waray Party-list, and Rep. Mikee Romero of 1-Pacman will be Vice Presidents for the third termers, the second termers, and the first termers respectively.
“Party-lists face an uphill challenge to show the full extent of our capabilities as members of Congress, and we as a coalition gladly accept that challenge in the 17th Congress,” said Batocabe, “this is going to be an eventful year for party-lists and we promise to go beyond our mandate of serving and giving a voice to the marginalized, the underrepresented, and various sectors of Philippine society.”
Rep. Sharon Garin of AAMBIS-OWA Party-list will sit as Secretary General while Rep. Juliet Cortuna of A Teacher Party-list will assume the title of Treasurer.
Reps Alfredo Garbin (AKO Bicol), Jericho Nograles (PBA), Eugene De Vera (ABS), Anthony Bravo (COOP NATCCO), and John Bertiz (ACTS-OFW) were named Spokespersons while Jess Manalo (ANGKLA) and Harry Roque (KABAYAN) will be legal counsels.
“This year, we as a coalition hope to work hand-in-hand to show Filipinos why party-list congressmen are here in the first place: to enact laws and resolutions that benefit the Filipino nation,” AKO Bicol Rep. Alfredo Garbin, Jr. said. “True, there may be loopholes in the party-list system, but these are not beyond repair, nor do they impede party-lists from legislating for the betterment of the nation.”
The new headship includes a Technical Working Group Tackling the Abolition of the Party-list System where CIBAC Rep. Shewin Tugna will be sitting as Chairman, with Roque as Vice-Chair. Former AGAP Rep. Nicanor Briones will be sitting in a President Emeritus capacity.