6,304 guests

Model cops surround ‘Bato’

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 1111

DOZENS of model police officers, all previous winners of Metrobank’s Search for Country’s Outstanding Cops or COPS have been assembled to form a key part of Philippine National Police chief, Director General Ronald ‘Bato’ M. dela Rosa’s fight against crime, drugs and corruption, the Journal Group learned yesterday.

These officers and men are main players in countless stories of bravery, heroism, sacrifice and gallantry earning them the pride and honor of being called outstanding policemen, modern-day heroes who really have remained honest and true to their calling, Gen. Dela Rosa said.
Recently, Gen. Dela Rosa along with previous COPS winners, Chief Superintendent Camilo Pancratius Cascolan and Senior Supts. Gilbert Cruz, Joseph Adnol, Alden Delvo and Dionardo Carlos were feted by Metrobank chair Dr. George SK Ty for their continuing support to the annual search for outstanding police commissioned and non-commissioned officers in the country.
Cascolan, a classmate at the Philippine Military Academy ‘Sinagtala’ Class of 1986 is currently the PNP Director for Operations while Cruz of PNP Academy Class 1986 is the director of the Police-Community Relations Group.
Adnol is with the PNP Directorate for Police-Community Relations, Delvo, of PNPA Class 1995 is Gen. Dela Rosa’s Senior Executive Assistant while Carlos, a member of PMA Class 1988 is the PNP spokesman and chief of the PNP Public Information Office.
At present, the PMA Class 1992 has produced the most number of COPS winners in the person of Senior Supt. Belli Tamayo, currently the chief of the National Capital Region Office of the PNP Criminal Investigation and Detection Group; Senior Supt. Ronald Lee, the Pangasinan Police Provincial Office director; Senior Supt. Bernard Banac, a former SEA of the Chief, PNP; Senior Supt. Leo Francisco, now the La Union Police Provincial Office director; Senior Supt. Steve Ludan, currently with the PNP Directorate for Comptrollership; Senior Supt. Sydney Villaflor, currently the Angeles City Police Office director and Senior Supt. Eric Noble of the Police Regional Office 1.
Other previous COPS winners now holding key PNP positions are Chief Supt. Valfrie Tabian, another member of PMA Class 1986 who is now the Police Regional Office 4-A director in Calabarzon region; Chief Supt. Noli Taliño, a member of PMA Class 1984 who is now the PRO7 director in Central Visayas; Senior Supt. Guillermo Lorenzo Eleazar, a member of PMA Class 1987 who is now the Quezon City Police District director; fellow members of PMA Class 1987, Senior Supt. Rey Lyndon Lawas of the PRO7; and Chief Supt. Alfred Corpus, a former director of the Police Security Protection Group;
Senior Supt. Rhodel Sermonia of PMA Class 1989; Chief Supt. Cedrick Train of PNPA Class 1984, now the PRO12 director in Central Mindanao; Senior Supt. Rodelio Jocson, of PNPA Class 1986, now with the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao Police Regional Office; Senior Supt. Bernabe Balba, the PRO4-A Chief Regional Directorial Staff; Senior Supt. Alex Sintin of PMA Class 1990, a member of PMA Class 1990 who used to be the Tarlac Police Provincial Office director; Senior Supt. Florencio Ortilla also of PMA Class 1990; Chief Supt. Bong Leuterio of the PNP Internal Affairs Service and Senior Supt. Bong Durana.
Leuterio, Balba and Durana are all classmates at PMA Class 1988 of Carlos.
Metrobank’s COPS honors model of professionalism, competence, and integrity in the 160,000-strong police force. Since 2002, the Search for COPS already honored a total of 51 Police Commissioned Officers and 77 Police Non-Commissioned Officers.
COPS continue to contribute in the realization of the Integrated Transformation Program of having the PNP as a highly capable, effective and credible police organization working in partnership with a responsive community.
COPS serves as an expression of the civilian sector represented by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc.; PS Bank and Rotary Club of New Manila East. Officials of the three organizations said they give the annual award to show their gratitude, trust and confidence to the PNP whom despite criticism and generally negative perception of the public still continue to showcase genuine commitment to serve, protect and champion public service by fostering harmonious police-community relationship.
Beginning this year, COPS awardees will receive an increased cash prize of P500,000.