5,675 guests

‘Bato’ sacks 24 cops in Espinosa killing

  • Written by Alfred Dalizon
  • Published in Top Stories
  • Read: 430

PHILIPPINE National Police chief Director General Ronald ‘Bato’ M. de la Rosa yesterday ordered the transfer to Camp Crame of 24 policemen involved in the killing of Albuera, Leyte Mayor Rolando Espinosa Sr. in an early morning raid on the Baybay City sub-provincial jail last Saturday.

“ After being appraised of the initial results of the investigation into the incident which resulted in the death of Albuera, Leyte Mayor Rolando Espinosa, I have directed Police Director Fernando Mendez Jr. of the Directorate for Personnel and Record Management to immediately issue the order for the relief of 18 other Criminal Investigation and Detection Unit 8 (CIDG8) and six (6) Regional Maritime Unit 8 (RMU8) personnel involved in the operation effective immediately,” said the top cop in a statement.

He said that the 24 were reassigned to the PNP Personnel Holding and Accounting Unit in Camp Crame to face ongoing investigations by the PNP Internal Affairs Service  and the PNP-CIDG national headquarters.

“The PNP will fully cooperate to any investigating body. Let me assure everyone that there will be no whitewash in the investigation; we will ferret out the truth; and slap appropriate sanctions or charges to our personnel who have committed violations,” said Gen. de la Rosa.

Ordered transferred to Camp Crame effective yesterday were erstwhile 8th Regional Criminal Investigation and Detection Unit chief, Superintendent Marvin Marcos and his men Supt. Santi Noel Matira, Chief Inspector Leo Laraga, Senior Inspectors Eric Constantino and Fritz Blanco, Senior Police Officers 4 Melvin Cayobit and Juanito Duarte, SPO2 Alphinor Serrano Jr., SPO1 Benjamin Dacallos, PO3 Norman Abellanosa, PO2 Neil Centino and PO1s Lloyd Ortiguez, Bhernard Orpilla, Kristal Jane Gisma, Jerlan Cabiyaan and Divine Grace Songalia.
The others were 8th Regional Maritime Unit personnel, Chief Inspector Calixto Canillas Jr, Inspector Lucresito Candilosas, SPO2 Antonio Cadocil, SPO1 Mark Christian Cadillo and PO2s John Ruel Doculan and Jaime Bacsal.