8,828 guests

Fallen firefighters honored

  • Written by Arlene Rivera
  • Published in Metro
  • Read: 149

THE Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP)-National Capital Region recently paid tribute to its fallen members.

The Mandaluyong City Fire Station headed by Chief Insp. Roberto Samillano Jr. held a wreath-laying ceremony in honor of F/Lt. Jose S. Fabicon Sr., one of the heroes inthe Rockwell Fire on December 14, 1973.

Meanwhile BFP officials led by Senior Supt. Wilberto Rico Neil Kwan Tiu, BFP-National Capital Region chief, and Fire Marshals of Metro Manila fire stations together with the families of fallen firemen honored the deceased firefighters at the Libingan ng mga Bumbero in Manila North Cemetery and simultaneously at the Mandaluyong and San Juan Cemetery.

Aside from Fabicon, firemen Domingo Viray and Fructoso Planas all assigned at the Makati Fire Department, were also remembered.

Samillano said based on directive of Kwan Tiu he wanted an annual wreath-laying ceremony held every December 14 as part of the collaborative effort of the BFP to give recognition to the fire- fighters who have offered valuable sacrifices to “save lives and property”.
The ceremony featured blessing and offering of flowers at the final resting place of the fallen firefighters.
“Although they are already in the loving arms of our Creator, we offer wreath  to fallen comrades especially those who perished in the Rockwell fire that is the reason why we have the Fire Recognition Day,” Kwan Tiu said.
The infamous Rockwell Power Plant fire, considered one of the worst fire incidents in the history of the fire bureau, claimed the lives of three fire fighters.