7,670 guests

Garcia, Joriz in spotlight

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Other Sports
  • Read: 434

MUNOZ  -- Justene Garcia and John Joriz shared the limelight during the  opening weekend of the 2016  Philippine Homing Pigeon Association ((PHA) North Series here last Oct. 9.

Garcia and his PHA 16-1602158 -- a blue bar cock out of Victor Lim x Peter See bloodline -- submitted a speed of 1,049.315 meters per minute to rule the Young Birds category.
Rey So and PHA 16-1601131 -- a checkered hen out of Florizone x Van de Merwe origin  -- clocked 1,046.493 meters per minute for second place.
Another So’s entry -- PHA 16- 1601110 and a blue bar hen out of Florizone x De Vos -- timed 1,046.461 meters per minute for third place.
Completing  the top 10 finishers  were  Jose Torres, fourth;  Jose Torres, fifth;  Jaime “Jimi” Lim, sixth; Paquito Ngo, seventh; Kerby Chua, eighth; Paquito Ngo, ninth; and Jeg Ambrocio, 10th.
In the Old Birds category, Joriz and his PHA 16-2607201 -- a  checkered  hen out of Vandenabelle bloodline -- came in with a speed of 1,047.112 meters per minute  for  first place.
Johnson Si swept second and third places.
Si’s PHA 14-1403269 -- a blue bar cock out of 2012 5th OA Van den Broucke x Manny Go-Van den Broucke bloodline -- timed 1,044.455 meter per minure for second place.
Third placer was Si’s PHA 15-1506453 -- a blue bar cock out of Luis Chiu-Van den Broucke x Paquito Ngo-Van den Broucke  -- which clocked 1,044.263 meter per minute.
Paquito Ngo took fourth, fifth and sixth places; Anson Ong wound up seventh; Winston Tiu came in eighth; Jaime “Jimi”Lim finished ninth; and Paquito Ngo 10th.
A total of 593 birds out of 1, 283 birds from 60 lofts were clocked in the Young Birds Series and 248 birds out of 506 birds from 38 lofts were clocked in the Old Birds Series.
PHA president Jaime “Jimi”Lim said the seven-part PHA North Series will resume with the second leg in Sta. Maria on Oct. 16.
Also in the PHA North calendar are third leg in Tuguegarao on Oct. 23; fourth leg in Alcala on Oct. 30; fifth leg in  Gattaran on Nov. 6;  sixth leg in Aparri on Mov. 13; and seventh and final leg in Sta. Ana on Nov. 20.
Nelson Chua is the racing chairman.