7,649 guests

Stallions, Crusaders show way

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 338

MANUEL Luis Quezon University and Pasig Catholic College show the way after the first week of competitions in the 2016 Universities and  Colleges Schools Athletic Association (UCSAA) basketball tournament at  the Ynares Center in Pasig.

MLQU swept its first three assignments, beating Don Bosco Technical College, 93-66, last Sept. 22;  host De La Salle Araneta University, 84-63, last Oct. 1l and Immaculada Concepcion College, 87-80, last Oct. 5.

Jaymark Mallari,Jayson Grimaldo and Nikko Lao carried the fight for the  Stallions, who are making their debut in the  seven-team league.

Mallari scored  24 points against Don Bosco, 23 points against DLSAU and 22 points against ICC.

Grimaldo had  nine against Don Bosco, 15 against DLSAU and  26 against ICC.

Pasig Catholic College also kept its unbeaten record by downing  St. Dominic Savio College, 92-89, at the  DLSAU gym last Oct. 1 and  Don Bosco, 93-78, at the PCC gym last Oct. 5.
Tabasan, Pinili and Pablo were the leading scorers for  PCC.
Host DLSAU bested St. Dominic, 68-65 ,  at the DLSAU gym last Sept. 24 and Our Lady of  Lourdes Technical College,  85-70, at the PCC gym last Oct. 5 for a 2-1 record.
The La Sallians were paced  by Batungbakal, Pangilinan, Aquino, Del Rosario and Briones in their two victories over  the Unicorns and the Warriors.
OLLTC, which is being handled by coach Mark Ballesteros, won over  ICC, 98-87, in the other opening-day match last Sept. 22.
Don Bosco downed ICC,  68-61, for a 1-2 win-loss record.
In the high school division,  PCC defeated  defending champion DLSAU,  95-79, and  won by forfeit over St. Dominic to take the lead with two straight victories.
Before losing by forfeiture to  PCC,  St. Dominic  whipped ICC,  81-57,  last Sept. 22 and DLSAU, 65-57, last Sept. 24.
Hosted by DLSAU this year,  UCSAA is now on its sixth year.
St. Dominic Savio College bagged the  inaugural title in 2011, before Colegio de San Lorenzo dominated the  next four seasons.
Last year, CdSL defeated St. Dominic, 103-100,  in the final to capture the title with  a nine-game sweep.
CdSL begged off  from participation this year.      
In the junior division, DLSAU defeated  SDSC, 95-69, to capture the title also last year.Ed Andaya