5,028 guests

Abarquez, Enriquez triumph

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Other Sports
  • Read: 210

ZAMBOANGA del Norte bet Sydney Enriquez and Elkizabeth Abarquez from Carcar City, Cebu led the winners in the recently-concluded inaugural leg of the 2017 Cebuana  Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Championships hosted  by the Citigreen Tennis Resort, Alta  Vista Golf  and Country Club, and Pardo Tennis Club in Cebu City that attracted 180 entries. 

Enriquez beat Minette April Bentinop from Sultan Kudarat,  6-3 , 6-1  for the 14 & under girls championship  and partnered with Bentino to share the 14 and  under girls’ doubles crown with an 8 - 0 victory over Helary Coderos and Corazon Lambunao while Abarquez  defeated Sultan Kudarat's Carlyn Bless Guarde 6 - 3 , 6 - 3 to bag the girls' 16 and  under title, she also teamed up with Shyne Villareal  and fashioned an 8 - 4 win over Ghylliana Yu and Pherl Bless Coderos to share the the 18 and  under doubles crown in the tournament supported by Dunlop as the official ball.
Guarde avenged her defeat to Abarquez in the 18  and  under finals  as  she  eked out  a 7 - 5 , 6 - 3 beating of Abarquez to win the title whileanother familiar name Jose Maria Pague  from Zamboanga Sibugay beat old nemesis and 16 and under boys' titlist Vince  Tigade 6 - 4 , 6 - 3 in the  boys' 18 and  under finals, Tugade  earlier copped the 16 and  under  crown  over local bet Marc Nicole Suson 7-6, 6-1.
“ This year, we added a total of eight  new cities  in the Visayas-Mindanao area, believing that we will discover more  young talents here as we have  done in the past, ” said Cebuana Lhuillier president /CEO Jean Henri Lhuillier, who is  also the current PHILTA chairman.
“We  now have legs in Bacolod City, Damilag, Bukidnon, Mlang, North Cotabato, Digos City, Tagum, Davao  Oriental, Puerto Princesa, Kidapawan,  North  Cotabato,  and Kalibo Aklan.  Total legs  this year  will reach  as many as 46,” explained Lhuillier.
Other  notable winners in the Group 2 tournament were Oroquieta City's Nash Agustines in the  boys’ 12 and  under after he beat John Christopher Sonsona from Lanao del Norte 6-2 , 7-5,  Agustines also shared the boys' 14 and  under doubles title with  partner Erie Tagal, beating Brent Sigmond Cortes  and Ashton Benne Villanueva 8 - 4; Tiffany Claire Nocos duplicated the feat  in the girls' side with  an easy 6 -0, 6 - 3 victory  over Ormoc City bet Corazon Lambonao, Lapu Lapu City's Chad Connor Cuizon swept Bryzen Matthew Sanchez 4 - 0, 4 - 0 in the finals of the 10 and  under unisex group. Feb Wendell Deja and Rucel Cero conspired to  win over Pague and Ramon Wilfred Bentillo,  8- 4  for the boys' 18 and  under title.
The next leg  in the nationwide, island-hopping  series  will be in Iloilo City.