6,494 guests

Bautista orders planning, dev’t dept to resolve boundary disputes amicably

  • Written by Cory Martinez
  • Published in Metro
  • Read: 136

Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista has ordered the city’s planning and development department to study how the city government will be able to facilitate a peaceful and amicable settlement on city’s boundary disputes.

Bautista issued the order as he stressed the need to resolve the boundary disputes, not only among barangays but also with other local government units, so that the city government can fully utilize them.

The mayor said that discrepancies in boundaries shared by Quezon City with the cities of Marikina, Valenzuela, Manila and Caloocan are among the priority areas that need to be cleared.

A review by the CPDO of the political boundary map of Quezon City prepared by contractors of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources-National Capital Region (DENR-NCR) for its Cadastral Survey Project indicated discrepancies in the city’s boundary line with Marikina, Valenzuela and Manila.

With Marikina, discrepancies are noted in the vicinity of Ayala Heights and Capitol Park Homes from the Arroyo Creek towards Loyola Grand Villas in Bgy. Matandang Balara and in the vicinity of La Vista Subdivision towards Ateneo Campus in Bgys. Pansol and Loyola Heights.       
Between QC and Valenzuela, the discrepancy was noted particularly at Bgys. San Bartolome and Bagbag along Tullahan River while in the boundary with Manila, the discrepancy was noted at the corner of A. Bonifacio Avenue and North Cemetery.
With Caloocan City, the mayor wants the city’s boundary line at Bgy. Baesa resolved.   
Quezon City’s boundary map was based on the coordinates of the City Boundary Monuments (CBM) obtained from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources-Land Management Bureau (DENR-LMB) and with reference to the 1956 Amended Revised Charter of Quezon City. 
Bautista has also ordered the speedy settlement of boundary disputes between some of the city’s barangays.
At present, there are about 28 QC, barangays having territorial disputes; among them are Bgys. Commonwealth and Payatas, Libis and Bagumbayan, Sto. Cristo and Ramon Magsaysay, Kaunlaran and San Martin de Porres.