4,907 guests

Blazers in twinkill

  • Written by Theodore P. Jurado
  • Published in Other Sports
  • Read: 166

COLLEGE of Saint Benilde swept the men’s and women’s championships in the NCAA lawn tennis tournament in Wednesday at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

The Blazers dethroned San Beda, 2-1, to end a seven-season title drought via a 12-tie sweep, while the Lady Blazers dismantled Arellano University, 2-1, to win back-to-back crowns.

St. Benilde captain Jet Asilo hammered out a 6-4, 6-2 victory over San Beda’s Andre Tuason in the deciding singles to complete the come-from-behind win.
Vince Carlo Ramiscal actually gave the Red Netters the first win at the expense of Radharani Reyes in a three-set thriller, 6-3, 1-6, 6-3, in the opening singles before the Blazers leveled behind John Mavrick Victoria and Carl Edwin Catedral, who plastered Erick Fernandez and Whismark Basanal, 6-0, 6-0, in the doubles match.
Despite the loss in the first singles, Reyes was named the season MVP for St. Benilde, which swept all nine ties in the eliminations before winning the next three in the Round of 4.
San Sebastian College defeated Letran, 2-1, in the other tie to settle for the runner-up honors, while San Beda wound up in third place.
Skipper Bea Ebriega led the way for the Lady Blazers to retain the championship.
In the juniors division, Arellano University turned back San Beda, 2-1, to annex its first-ever title.
The Braves also swept the Final Four round, with Aljon Talatayod emerging as the tournament MVP.