4,685 guests

Trace, CSA-Binan capture LACUAA titles

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 363

LOS BANOS, Laguna –  Trace College captured the high school title, while Colegio San Agustin-Binan bagged the elementary crwn at the close of the fourth LACUAA basketball tournament at the  Univerisytof thePhilippines-

Copeland  gym here recently.

Trace outlasted CSA-Binan, 61-53, in overtime behind the all-around brilliance of  Grant Tracy Timog  and Nazarito Aguilar to emerge as the high school champion.
Timog fired 21 points while Aguilar added 17 points to power the Ralph Ivan Elayda-mentored Trace to victory.
Trace also got contributions from Carl Lenard DC Bacay (10), Michael J. Malbataan (8) and Christian Ogalin (3).
John Austin Garinga  carried the fight for CSA-Binan of coach  Ruel G. De Luna with 16 markers.
Jommel Ytac added 15 points, Alvin John Sugay  contributed 13, Ralph Vergil F. Dy  had four and Vinz Adrianne Oliveros  had three for CSa-Binan.
University of Perpetual Help System Dalta  smothered  San Sebastian College-Canlubang, 64-47, to clinch third place.
UPHSD  relied on Carlos De Villa (26 points), Zaldy  Necia (14), Ellian Rae M. Casacop (13), Raymart P. Barba (5) and Aaron D. Masangkay (3) to beat San Sebastian.
Ian Miguel Collantes  paced  San Sebastian with 12 points,  followed by Joshiel Gastador (8), EJ Rodriguez (5), Christian Dimen (4) and Philip Mina (4).
In the elementary bracket,  CSA-Biñan leaned on Benedict Ursolino’s 28 points  to beat Don Bosco College-Calamba,55-44. and bring home the title.
CSA-Binan, which is being handled by coach Allan de Leon,  also got  contributions from Mathew Arzola (8), Andrei DM Bilbes (8), Desmond Ligores (6) and Karil T. Cueto (3) to .beat Don Bosco.
The  Jimmy Sambrano-mentored  DBCC  rode on Prince Cholo M. Velasco (18), Karl M. Javier (7), Naile M. Insorio (6), Beau Angelo B. Nepomuceno (6) and Benedict A. Abela (3).
University of Perpetual Help System Dalta  outclassed De La Salle University-Integrated School, 39-22, in the battle for third place.
DLSU-IS  of coach  Danilo Ligsay was paced by Jozimo Alihan (15), John Ray F. Espulgar (9), John Cedric C. Simon (4), Joseph Villegas (4) and Richard N. Cruz (3).
UPHSD, on the other hand,   had Lou Victor  Castro (6), Jerald  Baradas (6), Darryl  Modesto (5), Glenn Grimaldo (3) and Lawrence De la Cuesta (2) in the scoring parade.
LACUAA founding president Leonardo “Ding” Andres awarded the trophies to the champions.