4,780 guests

Duterte promotes new PNP generals

  • Written by Alfred P. Dalizon
  • Published in Top Stories
  • Read: 1041

PRESIDENT Duterte has approved the promotion of eight Philippine National Police generals upon the recommendation of Department of the Interior and Local Government Secretary Ismael ‘Mike’ D. Sueno and PNP chief, Director General Ronald “Bato” M. dela Rosa, the People’s Tonight learned yesterday.

Heading the list of the newly-promoted officers are new PNP Director Federico L. Dulay Jr., a member of Philippine Military Academy Class 1984 who is now the head of the PNP Civil Security Group and Director Archie Francisco F. Gamboa, a classmate at the PMA Class 1986 of Gen. Dela Rosa who is currently the PNP Director for Comptrollership.
The others are new Chief Superintendents Ramon O. Purugganan, Antonio N. Gardiola Jr. and Amador V. Corpus, Peter Rosano P. Donato, William S. Macavinta and Ma. OR. Aplasca.
Purugganan, Gardiola and Corpus are also members of PMA Class 1986 while Donato belongs to PMA Class 1984. Aplasca belongs to PMA Class 1987 while Macavinta became the first member of PNP Academy Class 1987 to become a one-star police general.
Purugganan is currently the executive officer of the PNP Directorate for Comptrollership while Gardiola is the director of the PNP Highway Patrol Group. Corpus is the PNP secretary to the Directorial Staff while Donato is the executive officer of the PNP Directorate for Integrated Police Operations-Northern Luzon.
Aplasca is the PNP Aviation Security Group director while Macavinta is the executive officer of the PNP Directorate for Human Resources and Doctrine Development.
President Duterte last month also promoted to the next higher rank Director Ramon C. Apolinario and Director Fernando H. Mendez Jr.  Apolinario, a member of PMA Class 1985 is the PNP Chief Directorial Staff, the 4th highest position in the 160,000-strong police force while Mendez of PMA Class 1986 is the PNP Director for Personnel and Records Management.
Also promoted to the rank of Chief Superintendent last month were Chief Supt. Cesar Hawthorne R. Binag, Amando Clifton B. Empiso, Joel Crisostomo DL Garcia and Romulo E. Sapitula.
Binag, the PNP Firearms and Explosives Office director and Empiso, the Regional Chief Directorial Staff of the National Capital Region Police Office are both members of PMA Class 1986.
Garcia, a member of PMA Class 1986 is the executive officer of the PNP Directorate for Personnel and Records Management while Sapitula of PNPA Class 1986 is currently the Eastern Police District director.