5,918 guests

UPHSD captures LACUAA crown

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 305

LOS BANOS, Laguna -- University of Perpetual Help System Dalta is this year’s LACUAA college basketball champion.

Led by ace gunners Noriel Ian De Torres and Junthel Namo and  handled  by coach Dionisio “Dennis” Lapastora, UPHSD brought down  AsiaTech College,  75-74, to capture the title before a big weekend crowd at the  UPLB Copeland gym.

De Torres scattered 24 points and Namo added 16 points  to power UPHSD to the championship in this annual tournament  for Laguna-based school;s and universities.
De Torres was later voted as Most Valuable Player of the LACUAA Season 4.
Three other players -- Renz Carteciano, Aryss Severino and Dharyl Ocdamia  – also  came through with key baskets for UPHSD, which battled  back from 30-35 halftime deficit to secure the win..
Carteciano added 13 points,  Severino had seven and Pcdamia had four.
Edmara Padua  carried the fight for  the Pablo Lucas-mentored Asiatech with a team-high 23 points, followed by Jomar B. Diamante  with 15, David Joshua Tallorin  with eight, and Charles Jacob Lucas and Rey Rellores with six apiece.
In the battle for third place, Trace College  outsteadied San Pedro College and Business Administration, 75-71, behind the  game-long brilliance of  John Paolo Angeles, Julius Herradura and Elison Honra.
Angeles finished with 20 points,  Herradura  had17 and Honra  with 14for Trace of coach Ralph Ivan Elayda .
Darrius J. Cunanan and Alexis Vince Valdez  also added 11 and six points, respectively.
SPCBA  was paced by Arvy Paolo Vasquez (17 points), Klent Jan Galuz (14), Jose Julio Manay (13), Richmond Hong (8) and Patrict Rhon Igonia (8).
Halftime score was 44-28 for Trace.
Aside from De Torres, the other memners of the Mythical Team are El Sadam Garcia (UPHSD), Joemar Diamante (AsiaTech), Julius Herradura (Trace) and Klent Jan Galuz (SPCBA).