5,258 guests

Yap, Liwag take Aparri leg of PHA North Series

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Other Sports
  • Read: 592

APARRI, Cagayan -- Edison Yap and Romeo Liwag added their names to the list of champions in the 2016  Philippine  Homing Pigeon  Association ((PHA) North Series, winning  the sixth leg here last Nov. 13.

Yap and his PHA-16-1601810 – a  checkered cock out of  Maurice Mattheuws X Ad Fortuin bloodline —  made a speed of 1,318.787  meter per minute to clinch top honors in the Young Birds category.
Winston Tiu and Benito Go Que  finished second and third, respectively.
Tiu’s PHA-16-1600663 – a dark check cock out of Emiel X George Bolel origin – clocked 1,249.209  meter per minute for second place, while Go Que’s PHA-16-1601353  — a pencil pied hen out of Old Lien X Koopman  — timed 1,249.059  meter per minute for third place.
Completing the Top 10 Young Birds finishers are Togie & Dofox, fourth; Nelson Chua, fifth;  Charlie Chen, sixth;  Egay Yap, seventh; Ferdinand Chua, eighth; Jaime “Jimi” Lim, ninth; and John Joriz, 10th. 
In the Old Birds class,  Liwag shone  brightest with his PHA-16-16030583 – a blue bar cock  out of Jos Van den Broucke Line – whch submitted a speed of 1,339.281  meter per minute.
Egay Yap and PHA-16-2609051 – a  blue check cock out of  Lucky 8 Line  —  clinched second place with a speed of 1,335.585  meter per minute.
Butlington Loft  and PHA-15-1501605 came in third place.
Also in the top 10 are Burlington Loft, Luis Chiu,  Jude Sy, Emil Romero,  Paul Ung,  Egay Yap and Paquito Ngo.
PHA race chairman  Nelson Chua  said a  total of  381 birds out of 633  birds from  59 lofts  were  clocked in  the Young Birds  series and  179 birds out of  275  birds from 35 lofts were clocked in the Old Birds category.    
PHA president Jaime “Jimi” Lim said the  PHA North Series end s with the  seventh leg in Sta. Ana, Cagayan on Nov. 20.
Past PHA winners were  Justene Garcia (Young Birds)  and  John Joriz   (Old Birds) in the first leg  in  Munoz; John Joriz (Young  Birds) and Edison Yap  (Old Birds) in  the third leg in Tuguegarao;  and  Romeo  Liwag  (Young Birds) and Edison Yap  (Old Birds) in the fourth leg in Alcala, Cagayan; and Winston Tiu (Young Birds)  and Paul Ung (Old Birds) in  the fifth leg in  Gattaran, Cagayan.