6,007 guests

‘No window hours’ expanded

  • Written by Jun I. Legaspi
  • Published in Metro
  • Read: 517

THE Inter-agency Council on Traffic (I-Act) and the Metro Manila Council (MMC) have agreed to extend  the “no window hours” policy and extend its coverage.

From the existing 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., coding hours will now run from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.  The “no window hours” scheme for coded vehicles shall also cover all radial roads (R1 to R10) and circumferential roads (C1 to C6) in Metro Manila. These measures shall take effect on November 1 or five days after publication of a Resolution signed by the Metro Manila mayors.
The extended coding hours and expanded coverage of the “no window hours” policy aimed to decongest traffic flow and reduce volume of vehicles on national roads in Metro Manila.
Yesterday, the “no window hours” policy was implemented on EDSA, C5, Mandaluyong, Roxas Blvd., Alabang-Zapote Road, Las Piñas, and Makati. Metro Manila mayors and traffic managers responded positively to the measure, paving the way for the expansion of the policy.
The “no window hours” policy shall be strictly implemented on:  CM Recto to Padre Burgos Street; Abad Santos to Quirino Avenue; Libis Gocheco St. to Buendia; EDSA; Mindanao Avenue-NLEX to Sucat Road; Bulacan-Rizal-Manila-Cavite Regional Expressway; A. Bonifacio to A. Soriano Highway; Taft Ave. to Tagaytay – Talisay Road; SLEX to Southern Tagalog Artertial Road; Pasig Line to Taytay Diversion Road; V. Mapa to Manila East Road; Legarda to Marikina–Infanta Highway; Lerma to San Jose del Monte–Norzagaray Road; Quezon Blvd. to Rosario–Pugo Road; Rizal Avenue to MacArthur Highway; Tondo to Manila-Bataan Coastal Road.