8,509 guests

FEU-NRMF, Macway collide

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 386

Games today:

(Trinity gym)

7 p.m. -- EAC vs. Air Force

8:30 p.m. -- FEU-NRMF vs. Macway

FEU-Nicanor Reyes Medical Foundation and Macway Travel Club, two teams expected to figure prominently in  the title race, take on each other today in the 2016 MBL Open basketball tournament at the Trinity University gym in Quezon City.
FEU-NRMF, a star-studded team built to win the title in only its first appearance  in  the  league, and  Macway, a veteran-laden squad noted for its winning tradition, square off starting at 8:30 p.m.
The Nino Reyes-managed FEU-NRMF will be bannered by  6-4  Fil-Canadian  sensation Clay Crellin, ex-PBA  players  Arnold Gamboa,  Egay Billones, Eric Rodriguez, Al Vergara and Roider Cabrera and Edwin Asoro,  Joseph  Gabayni, Dexter Zamora, Milan Varga and 6-6 Cameroonian  Moustapha  Arafat.
The Fairview, Quezon  City-based Tamaraws swept their first three assignments against  Wang’s Ballclub,  New San Jose Builders and Janfy Pioneers-Secret Spices.
Macway, which is  seeking its  second straight title with coach Daniel Martinez and owner Erick Kirong at the helm, will  be led by ex-pros  Bonbon Custodio, Larry Rodriguez  and Nino Marquez and Pol Santiago, Mark Fampulme,  Jack Corpuz, Jemal Viscarra, Jeff Sanders, Floyd Dedicatoria and Jimmy Brown.
Macway is 2-1.
NCAA member Emilio Aguinaldo College and AFP Little Olympics champion Philippine Air Force make their debuts during the 7 p.m. curtainraiser.
Handled  by coach Ariel Sison and assistant coach Bong Melocoton, the Generals  will parade Alex Aguas, Renz Gonzales, Argel Natividad, Jethro Mendoza, Edlor Cayabo, Neil Aderes, Jeric Diego, Cedric Umali, Haspee Altiche, Nelson Mendoza, Jerom Garcia, Allan Martin, Edric Estacio, Juju Bautista and Robert Rosales.
To be known as the Jet Force,   PAF will be handled by Philippine Air Force  commanding general Lt. Gen. Edgar R. Fallorina, manager Col. Elpidio Talja and coach Sgt. Alvin Zuniga.
Leading Air Force are Paulino Fernandez, Rolando Pascual, Wilfredo Casulla, Rama Krishna Morales,  Darwin Cordero,  Raniel Jake Diwa, Roger Malig-On,   Jerry Lumongsod,  Reymark Pinto,  Ranimark Tano, Ryan Tongio,  Jay Dizon,  Perfecto De Torres, Joseph Baronda, Melmar Bitong, Ramil Isla, Norberto Bandong, Marlon Noo, Carl Valdevilla and Elmer Cuasay.
MBL chairman Alex Wang said the top two teams after the single-round  elimination  will advance  to the semis outright with twice-to-beat advantages.