5,024 guests

Taiwan relaxes visa rules for ASEAN states

  • Written by Cristina Lee-Pisco
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 206

The Taiwan (Republic of China) has relaxed its visa rules for individuals from six ASEAN member-states including the Philippines and India starting Sept. 1, the Taiwan Economic and Cultural Office (TECO) said yesterday.

Among the ASEAN member-countries included in the visa relaxation are Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam.

The adjustments came following the consultations between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the National Immigration Agency, and the Tourism Bureau which aims to further enhance interactions with the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.  At present, nationals of Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand enjoy visa-free entry to Taiwan. Passport holders from Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam who hold permanent resident certificates issued by Australia, Canada, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Schengen Agreement signatories, the United Kingdom, or the United States, or hold a visa or a resident card from one of these countries either is valid or expired within 10 years from the date of expected arrival in Taiwan, will now be eligible to use the Online Application for Taiwan Travel Authorization Certificate (https://niaspeedy.immigration.gov.tw/nia_southeast/).

Eligible applicants will be issued multiple-entry visas valid for three months, allowing single stays of up to 30 days.