4,671 guests

Macway to defend title

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 305

MACWAY Travel Club opens its bid for back-to-back titles when it meets unpredictable New San Jose Builders at the start of the 2016 MBL Open basketball championship  tomorrow (Saturday,  Sept. 10) at the Rizal Coliseum.

PBA legends E.J. eihl,  Bonbon Custodio and  Nino Marquez and veterans Pol Santiago, Anthony Cuevas, Mark Fampulme and  Erwin Sta. Maria will banner Macway, which bagged its  first  MBL title only last May.

The team will be handled by former Macway  mainstays Daniel Martinez, who wil make his debut as MBL coach, and Rey Alao, who  will now serve as team manager.
Coach Manny Mendoza  will now serve as team consultant.
“We’re confident of making it two in a row in the MBL. The players are in good  physical condition since playing in our own BBL-Macway Cup last July," said businessman-sportsman Erick Kirong.
A staunch basketball supporter,  Kirong and Macway have already won 16 titles in various commercial leagues around the country since its formation in 2013.
“Although we're still new, Macway has already built a good winning tradition mainly due to the hard work of the players and the coaching staff,” added Kirong.
He also  attributed  the success to the  strong  sense  of camaraderie among the players.
Also in  the  Macway  roster are formr  MBL MVP   Jemal Vizcarra, Harold Sta. Cruz,  Kevin Espinosa, Dan  Natividad,  Alvin  Vitug,  Jordan Melaño, Totot Mangaran, Teng Reyes,  Andeas Cahilig, Joggy  Laude and   Mark Lagrimas.
Last May 28, Macway   brought down  former NCAA champion Philippine Christian University, 89-83, to capture  its first-ever  championship.
Also  expected  to  participate  in the  tournament  sponsored  by  Smart Sports,  Ironcon Builders, Star Bread,  Dickies  Underwear  and   PRC  Couriers  are    Wang’s   Ballclub  (Alex Wang/Pablo Lucas),  New  San  Jose  Builders (Jerry Acuzar/Rainier  Carpio ),   V Hotel- UST B  (Jaime Lim/Boy Sablan),  Sea Lions (Donna Alvaran/Jemuel Laron) and Jamfy Pioner-Secret  Spices (Macky Villarta).
NSJBI will be bannered  by Jayson Grimaldo, Nikko Lao, Lucky Boy Palogan, JP Baliday, Darry Aurelio,Josh Nicholas, Aeron Decanom, Kevin Sumay, Jon Acuzar, Jeff Acuzar, Etong Acuzar, JP  Cruz, RR Telles, Allen   de la Cruz,  Jerc  Baylen and playing manager Jomar Acuzar.
Recently, NSJBI won the MPG Cup held in Greenhills basketball court.
For inquiries, call Albert Andaya at c ell. 0917-7688638.