4,801 guests

Cargo Movers clinch PSL All-Filipino crown

  • Written by Theodore P. Jurado
  • Published in Volleyball
  • Read: 282

ONE of the most successful coaches in college volleyball with eight UAAP titles, Ramil de Jesus can finally call himself a Philippine SuperLiga champion coach.

F2 Logistics displayed tremendous composure to beat Foton, 18-25, 25-18, 25-21, 25-19, and annex the All-Filipino Conference crown last night at the packed Filoil Flying V Centre.

The Cargo Movers won the riveting best-of-three series, 2-1, and more importantly, giving De Jesus his first PSL championship that eluded him in the past two years.
Ara Galang came through with 12 points, including two blocks, Kim Dy tossed in 11 hits while Abi Maraño added 10 points and six digs for F2 Logistics.
Mika Reyes capped the Cargo Movers with a championships clinching service ace, sending their supporters and the fans in the gallery into frenzy.
The Tornadoes tried their very best to extend the match to an ultimate set, but their attacking game couldn’t get going when needed.
Jaja Santiago finished with 20 points, including four blocks and two service aces while Cherry Rondina was the other Foton player in twin digits with 12 hits.
F2 Logistics, forming the core of UAAP champion La Salle, zoomed to nine straight victories, making itself an instant favorites for the crown against a stacked field led by RC Cola-Army and Petron.
A loss to the Tornadoes ended the Cargo Movers their remarkable winning run, but regrouped in the semifinals, beating the Lady Troopers to clinch a spot in the title round.
F2 Logistics won in a five-set thriller in the opener before Foton squared the series with a four-set triumph in Game 2.
The Tornadoes’ erratic Game 3 will haunt them in the failure to win a back-to-back championship.
Although it out-hit its foes, 51-41, Foton’s whooping 37 errors spelled its doom.
The Cargo Movers thus became the league’s fourth champion after the Lady Troopers, Tri-Activ Spikers and the Tornadoes.