5,967 guests

FCVBA opens bid in ASEAN cagefest

  • Written by Ed Andaya
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 551

THE Filipino-Chinese Veterans  Basketball Association (FCVBA) begins its title-retention campaigns in the 25th ASEAN Veterans Basketball  Conference  which starts today at the  Chiang Kai Shek College gym and the  Manila  Downtown YMCA gym in Binondo.

A total of 12 games in four age divisions are scheduled during a busy day which kicks off with a colorful opening ceremony starting at 10:15 a.m.

FCVBA is defending the  titles in three of four age divisions -- 40  years old and above, 50 years old and above and 60  years old and above  -- and seeking  the crown in the 65 years old and above category, which is being introduced this year.
The FCVBA 50-above team, bannered by four-time PBA MVP Alvin Patrimonio and fellow PBA legends Allan Caidic and Jerry Codiñera, will take the floor against ZAAP-Thailand at 3 p.m.
FCVBA 40-above team, led by Kenneth Duremdes, Braulio Lim, Ernesto Ballesteros, Benny Cheng  and Joseph Realista, will open its bid against ZAAP-Thailand at 4:15 p.m.
The FCVBA 60-above team, led by Edward Tio and Kenneth Yap, will open fire against Sarawak Hornbill-Indonesia at 11:15 a.m. right after the opening ceremony.
All three games and opening ceremony will be held  at the CKS gym.
In all, seven games will be played at CKS gym and five at the YMCA gym right on opening day.
The FCVBA 65-above team will make its debut against KLVBC-Malaysia at 9 a.m. on Aug. 23.
“The FCVBA is verry happy for this opportunity to host the tournament and our friends in the ASEAN region,” said FCVBA chairman  Jaime   “Jimi” Lim of Ironcon Builders.
The other FCVBA officers are Terry Que of Rain or Shine, vice-chairman;  Lucio “Bong” Tan, Jr. of Philippine Airlines, president; and Edward Tio of Freego Jeans,  vice-president.
The complete FCVBA line-ups:
40 years old and  above -- Kenneth Duremdez,  Braulio Lim, Ernesto Ballesteros, Benito Cheng, Louie Kaw, Royd Tan, Joseph Realista, Dexter Quan,  Francis Sy,  Arnel Syyap,  Lorencio Lim and Gerardo Santiago.
50 years old and above -- Alvin Patrimonio, Allan Caidic, Jerry Codiñera, Gerald Esplana, Gerry Gonzales, Silverio Palad, Oscar Go, Ng Yuk Chi, Daniel Pascual, Gerardo Tee,  Lawrence Chongson and Lucio Tan Jr.
60  years old and  above -- Eduard Tio, Jose  Lao, Kenneth Yap, Andrew Ongtengco, Conrad Siy, Renato So, James Chua, Johnny Chua, Danny Co, Julio Cruz, Morris  Lee, Joseph Whang and Noli Banate.
65  years old and  above -- Virgilio de la Cruz, Antonio Go, Zotico Tan, Lee Ching Ka, Que Chin Po, William Lao, William Lee,  Peter Ley, Francisco Tan, Johnson Lao, AlbertoTo and Jaime Lim.
Tournament director Edster Sy of  Headstart Sports Academy said the  participating teams are Hatyai (Thailand), Hornbill Sarawak (Malaysia), Miri Kinsar (Malaysia), Brunei Basketball Association,  KLVBC (Malaysia), ZAAP Bangkok (Thailand),  Meteor  Pontianak  (Indonesia), ASABA (Indonesia) and FCVBA (Philippines).
Assisting Sy are  Sunny Co, commissioner,  and Willy Chan, deputy  commissioner.