6,739 guests

LACUAA: UPHSD, Asia Tech in crucial wins

  • Written by People's Tonight
  • Published in Basketball
  • Read: 523

BIÑAN,  Laguna -- University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta made it four wins a row by beating San Pedro College and Business Administration,  79-72, in the fourth LACUAA basketball at the CSA gym in Southwoods, here Sunday.

Five players, led by Jade Rafael Naraga  and Jonthel Aries Namo, provided the firepower for the Deonicio “Dennis” Lapastora-mentored Altas.

Naraga finished with 15 points, followed by Namo  with 14, El Sadam Garcia with 13, Noriel Ian De Torres  with 11 and Renz Carteciano  with 10.

Ralph Leynard Pantaleon  topscored with 31 points for  SPCBA, which dropped to 1-3.

John Carlo Manay added 10 points for SPCBA of coach Richard Peñaranda.

Halftime score was 42-36.
Equally impressive was Asia Tech College, which routed San Sebastian College-Recoletos, 73-53, for its second straight win.
Sean Justine Salcedo (10), Marvin Altajeros (10), Angelo Rocha (9), Jomar Diamante (9) and Jeffrey Pahila (8) shared scoring honors for Asia Tech, which is seeking a strong finish with veteran coach Pablo Lucas at the helm.
ATC also won over SOCBA, 91-86, last Saturday.
SSC-R was paced by  Aljen Gerarcas (16), Emmanuel Dimen (12), Gerald Padilla (7), Darrel Jade Sabang (6) and  Gabriel Edrick Guevarra (5).
In other results, Don Bosco Institute of Art and Sciences outlasted Calamba Institute - Calamba City, 89-82, and UPHSD won by forfeiture over Blessed  Christian School in the high school division; and Colegio San Agustin-Biñan humbled UPHSD, 78-60, and De La Salle University-Integrated School won by forfeiture over BCS in the elementary bracket.
John Allen Mahilom was the top scorer for DBIS with 32 markers.
Mahilom was backed up  by Jimmy Impas (15), Aljon De Lara (11), Von Andrei Nullas (9) and Jheimart Reyes (8).
Jerome Yero and Mark Jopette  Fernandez  scored  18 points apiece  for  CIC.
The weekend-only tournament  is being organized  by LACUAA, headed by founding chairman  Leonardo Andres.