5,021 guests

PYD too strong for Brunei

  • Written by Robert Andaya
  • Published in Other Sports
  • Read: 734

KULIM,  Malaysia  -- The Philippines,  represented by  the Pinoy Youth Dreamers, is back in the semifinals of the  fourth International High School Basketball Championships at the  CRC Center here.

PYD defeated  Brunei Shooting Stars, 113-67, to set up a semifinal  match against  Macau in the  prestigious, six-nation competition  being held for the fourth  straight  year.
A win by PYD will  send it to  the championship match against  top favorite Australia.
Rufino  Sablaon  lll, Jan Daniel Geronimo, Justin Mark Ollesca and Dwayne  Brent Fabroa  scored almost at will for the Filipinos, who led  in all four  quarters enroute to a lopsided triumph.
Sablaon, a student of Jesus the Loving Sheperd  Christian College, finished with a  game-high 29 points,  three rebounds, three  steals and one block  to lead the  Filipinos.
Geronimo, of  Pasig Catholic College, added 18 points, seven rebounds, three assists and three steals.
Ollesca, also of  Pasig Catholic College, and Fabroa, of St. Margaret, contributed 14 points apiece.
Ollesca  also had  a  game-high four blocks.
Also contributing well to PYD’s  winning efforts are  Angelo Aniñon (11 ponts, 2 assists, 3 rebounds, s 3steals);  Laxa (10 points, 5 assists, 7 rebounds,  3steals); Carlos Miguel  Jacob (7 points, 2 assists,  3 rebounds, 4 steals);  and Charles Palaspas  (6 points, 1 assist, 6 rebounds, 1steal),
The PYD, which  is under  the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP),  is  supported by Alexander F. Balutan and  Jose Jorge E. Corpuz of Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office and  Pax Pelipel of PP Busline, Ms. Susan See of  Regent and  Waiyip Chong of Star Bread.
“We’re happy with the performances of  the  boys  so  far,” said  Pelipel, who also serves as team  manager.
The  members of  the  team are Sandre   Banluta  (Siena- Taytay),  Jose  Andres  De Guia  (Pateros  Catholic School), Ernest Cesar Oliveros (Siena-Taytay), Elchard Santos  (La  Immaculada  Concepcion), Angelo Masagca (San Sebastian College Recoletos),  Allen Valeriano  (St.  Lawrence Foundation ), Alexander Perez  (La Consolation College),  Gerben Baguhin (San Beda  College Rizal),  Kurt  Teaño  (St. Raphael Mary School), Gabriel Douglas Yim  (De La Salle Antipolo), Aries Jay Paunil  (La Salle Antipolo), Paul  Raganit  (San Sebastian), and Kenneth  Gonzaga  (La Consolation).