5,135 guests

Lions blank Pirates

  • Written by Theodore P. Jurado
  • Published in Volleyball
  • Read: 248

Games today:

(Filoil Flying V Centre)

10 a.m. --UPHSD vs. EAC (M)

11:30 a.m. --UPHSD vs. EAC (W)

1 p.m. --JRU vs. CSB (W)

2:30 p.m. -- JRU vs. CSB (M)

SAN Beda overcame a close first set to beat Lyceum of the Philippines University, 29-27, 25-13, 25-14, and force a three-way tie for the lead in the NCAA women’s volleyball tournament yesterday at the Filoil Flying V Centre.
Middle hitter Yani Espiritu nailed the set-clinching hit in the extended opening frame and the Lady Red Spikers pounced on the Lady Pirates’ erratic game in the next two frames to stretch their winning streak to three games.
Enjoying its finest start since going 5-0 in 2013-14 season, San Beda joined defending champion College of Saint Benilde and multi-titled San Sebastian on top of the standings.
Earlier, skipper Ria Sante had 14 points and 10 digs as Arellano University turned back Mapua, 25-17, 25-8, 18-25, 25-18, to join idle Jose Rizal University and LPU in joint third at 2-1.
Rookie Cesca Racraquin sustained her solid play for the Lady Red Spikers with 11 hits, including two service aces, and seven digs while twins Nieza and Ella Viray teamed up for 16 points.
The Lady Pirates, who drew six points apiece from Cherilyn Sindayen and Christine Miralles, gave away 41 points from errors which spelled their doom.
The Lady Chiefs also drew big games from Mary Anne Esguerra, who had four service aces for a 12-point outing, and setter Rhea Ramirez, who tossed in 35 excellent sets.
Katrina Racelis, Dianne Latayan and Jela Peña came through with seven points apiece for the Lady Cardinals, who went down at 0-4.
In the men’s division, John Joseph Cabillan and Kevin Liberato combined for 32 hits as Arellano extended its perfect run to three games with a 25-22, 25-19, 23-25, 25-21 toppling of Mapua.
Arellano later took the solo lead after LPU, behind Joeward Presnede’s 22-point, eight-dig outing, nipped San Beda, 25-23, 23-25, 25-18, 19-25, 15-12.

Theodore  Jurado