7,239 guests

Cop who killed 2 bus robbers cited

  • Written by Alfred P. Dalizon
  • Published in Metro
  • Read: 1015

PHILIPPINE National Police chief Director General Ricardo C. Marquez yesterday pinned the Medalya ng Kadakilaan to a brave member of the PNP Headquarters Support Service who singlehandedly foiled an armed robbery on board a packed passenger bus along the North Luzon Expressway in Caloocan City, killing two suspects in a gunbattle.
Gen. Marquez gave the PNP Medalya ng Kadakilaan (PNP Heroism Medal) to PO1 Ryan Cabansag for his meritorious heroic act in responding to a robbery perpetrated by three armed suspects inside a bus travelling on NLEX with 38 passengers last September 13. The cop did the feat while in the company of his wife and their three children, one of them still a baby.
When the robbers ordered the passengers to hand over their bags, PO2 Cabansag drew his gun and introduced himself as policeman. When the robbers started shooting at him, he fired back, killing two of them in the process. A third suspect managed to escape and is still being hunted.
Gen. Marquez said PO2 Cabansag’s bravery prevented possible death or injuries inside the bus where one of the robbers have threatened to shoot a female passenger.
PO2 Cabansag’s wife, Christine, also received a plaque of appreciation from Gen. Marquez in recognition of her courageous stand and resolve support to her husband during that fateful evening.
He also pinned the Medalya ng Kagitingan or PNP Merit Medal to 20 policemen for their heroic deeds in various operations against illegal drugs, loose firearms and wanted persons.
Given the medals were Supt. Joel S. Estaris of the PRO3; Supt. Supt Joseph R. Argwelles of the PRO4-A; Senior Insp. Anthony I. Torres of the PRO3;  Insp. Wilfredo Y. Dizon Jr. of the PRO3; Insp. Rez A. Alovera of the PRO4-A;  SPO4 Pablito J. Mendoza of the PRO4-A;  SPO4 Fernando R. Cantillas of the PNP Task Force Tugis; SPO3 Richard M. Ibao of the PRO4-A; PO3 Fernando H. Angeles of the PRO4-A; PO2 Benji DC Enconando of the PRO3; PO2 Robinson M. Padilla of the National Capital Region Police Office; PO2 Arthur DL Castro Jr. of the NCRPO; PO2 Rafael N. Abuan Jr. of the NCRPO; PO2 Joase M. Bernardino Jr. of PNP Task Force Tugis; PO2 Jayboy SD Nonato of PNP Task Force Tugis; PO1 Romie G. Zacarias of PRO3; PO1 Jo-mar V. Madarang of the NCRPO; and PO1 Joselito D. Jimenez, Ramon T. Silab and Ritchie L. Yapit, all of PNP Task Force Tugis.