NEHS Class of 1993 to distribute school supplies to 600 underprivileged students

  • Written by Ryan Ponce Pacpaco
  • Published in Announcements
  • Read: 5055

MEMBERS of New Era High School (NEHS) Class of 1993 will distribute this afternoon school supplies
to 600 most underprivileged students of their alma mater as part of their silver homecoming this

Batch ’93 launched “Project: Lapis at Papel, Notebook namin noon, para sa inyo ngayon!” with
their partners, Sen. Sonny Angara, Metro Department Store-U.P. Town Center, Rehome Philippines PPR
Pipes and Fittings, Jollibee Foods Corporation, Batch ’93 Adviser Ed M. Cruz, Grade 12 Stem and Gas
students of New Era University (NEU), NEHS Supreme Student Council (SSC) Adviser Elena G. Estabillo,
NEHS Boy Scouts of the Philippines (BSP) Adviser Gerald M. Antonio, and NEHS Girl Scouts of the
Philippines (GSP) Advisers Levie Jane Silao and Farida Raga P. Agatep.
Each set of school supplies that will be distributed to the Grades 7, 8 and 9 students has
eight notebooks, one intermediate pad, two ballpens (black and red), and one long plastic envelope.
“Today, we return to our alma mater not just to deliver the good news, but also to say thank
you to our former teachers who made us productive people of society. This will make our silver
homecoming more meaningful,” Batch ’93 said in a joint statement.
NEHS Principal Dr. Almario N. Aurelio will deliver the welcome remarks at the event to be
held at the school’s covered court along Tandang Sora Avenue in Quezon City. Sir Pete Austria will
give a message in behalf of the former teachers of Batch 93.
Tattoo artist Alfonso A. Arao and Metro Department Store manager Maureen Kho-Pasion, members
of Batch ’93, will deliver their inspirational messages.
During the event, Batch ’93 will also turn over a 40” LED TV from Metro Department Store to
Aurelio, Jose Antonio Gumabay, Marecris Guerra and Cherrybeth G. Estabillo for the school’s Learning
Resource Center.
Last November, Batch ’93 donated a desktop computer and printer to NEHS Registrar’s Office.
In 2012, Batch ’93 provided a public address system, printer, a second-hand air-conditioning unit
and computer hard drive to the school.
Angara, one of the sponsors, lauded Batch ’93 for spearheading a very compassionate project
that would benefit the underprivileged students.
“This is a very good project. Tunay na nagpapakita ng malasakit. Binabati ko kayong lahat
Batch ’93,” said Angara.
Jollibee representatives Marie Nicolas and Raine Babina will help facilitate the
distribution of 120 food packs to some teachers and students-volunteer who help prepare today’s
Rehome Philippines PPR Pipes and Fittings owners Mr. and Mrs. Rolando and Jessica Espejo, a
NEHS alumnae from Batch ’94, will attend the event.
Batch ’93, which is celebrating with the theme “Respect and camaraderie drive us home to
celebrate, honor the past and pay it forward”, will also award certificate of appreciation to their
former teachers to recognize their contributions and achievements as educators.
The awardees and former teachers of Batch ’93 are Aurelio, Dr. Levita Ramos who is now the
principal of Ramon Magsaysay Cubao High School (RMCHS); Dr. Gil Magbanua, Ceferina Bagalacsa, Sosima
Salibio, Lyn Alvarez-Badillo, Maria Antonietta Laurel, Rosario de la Cruz, Emerita Andres, Evelyn
Damayon, Isabel Lozares, Michaela Llonoso, Victoria Paz, Claire Dulin, Lanie Peralta, Rey Tanteo,
Clarissa Benidicta Deladia, Josephine Alma, Albert Dorado, Wilhelmina Laurel, Leticia Villegas,
Milagros Sollestre, Elsie Calixtro, Tessie Gutierrez, Grace Fernandez, Max Bunquin, Arsenia Allam,
Ma. Luisa Aniciete, Florence Villareal, Shirley Suratos, Luz Madamba, Donna Doctor, Melita Cajucom,
Estrella Merca, Elizabeth Manzano, Godofredo Habon, Adoracion Go, Juanita De la Cruz Dr. Jenilyn
Corpuz, E. Estabillo, Silao, Agatep, Antonio, Guerra, C. Estabillo, Cruz, and Austria Magbanua,
Ramos, and Corpuz were former NEHS principals. The event will also remember the late NEHS Principal
Dr. Fernando C. Javier.
Granuel Rana will make the opening prayer while June De Guzman will give the closing prayer.
Grade 10 Section Onyx and Grade 8 Section Magbanua Adviser Alison Mora are in-charge of the
intermission numbers and Xyza Trazona and Micah Ellaine G. Estabillo are the masters of ceremony.